17 Nov 2019 - 4:00pm

Venue: The Concert Hall
£20, £17, £12 50% off U16s & Students Groups, 1 in 8 free

Ian Brown, Conductor
Adrian Brendel, Cello

Von Suppe’,  Light Cavalry Overture
Dvořák, Cello Concerto
Tchaikovsky, Symphony No 4

Henley Symphony Orchestra opens its 50th anniversary season with two iconic masterpieces. Dvořák’s richly expressive Cello Concerto, written whilst he was living in New York, is imbued with a sense of longing for his Czech homeland.  Adrian Brendel is one of the most versatile and original cellists of his generation. Raised in the great central European tradition of music making, Adrian is a fitting soloist for this passionate concerto. The intensity of Tchaikovsky’s powerful but melodic Fourth Symphony, written at a time of personal turmoil, is heightened by a recurring ‘fate theme’, heard in the opening fanfare and again in the surging conclusion.